Coldplay confirm 'recession-beating' free album


Turns out Chris Martin's "way of saying thank you" to fans forking out for Coldplay tickets - "bearing in mind the recession we are in" - is more than just hearsay. The band are giving away a live CD called LeftRightLeftRightLeft.

The album will be handed out at every remaining show (excluding festivals) of 2009, starting with the first North American date at Florida's West Palm Beach on 15 May. Everyone else can download it from Coldplay's official site on the same day.

Marching on...

LeftRightLeftRightLeft was recorded over the past year from various cities along the Viva La Vida tour. Here's the tracklisting, artwork after the jump…

1. Glass of Water
2. 42
3. Clocks
4. Strawberry Swing
5. The Hardest Part/Postcards From Far Away
6. Viva La Vida
7. Death Will Never Conquer
8. Fix You
9. Death And All His Friends



Tom Porter worked on MusicRadar from its mid-2007 launch date to 2011, covering a range of music and music making topics, across features, gear news, reviews, interviews and more. A regular NAMM-goer back in the day, Tom now resides permanently in Los Angeles, where he's doing rather well at the Internet Movie Database (IMDB).