Duffy’s Mercy wins Song Of The Year


Welsh singer Duffy has won Mojo magazine's song of the year award for her single Mercy.

The awards are voted by the magazine's readers, and Mojo editor-in-chief Phil Alexander acclaimed Mercy as a "timeless" classic. "It could really have come from any period in time over the last 50 years," he said.

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds claimed the best album award for Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! Other winners at the awards ceremony on Monday 16 June included The Last Shadow Puppets, featuring Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner, who won best breakthrough act, and metal legends Motorhead who were honoured with the Mojo hero award.

"They've influenced everyone from Metallica to Primal Scream," said Alexander. "The reason? Well, there's simply no better way to go deaf than by listening to Motorhead."

The Sex Pistols picked up the Mojo icon award for Never Mind the Bollocks ... Here's the Sex Pistols. The Pistols have just headlined the Isle Of Wight festival.

"The Sex Pistols truly redefined modern music in the space of one solitary album. Who else has managed that?" Alexander added.

Led Zeppelin won the best live act award for their one-off reunion gig in London in December 2007, while The Specials were inducted into the Mojo Hall of Fame.

The 2008 Mojo award winners in full:
Song Of The Year: Duffy - Mercy
Best Breakthrough Act: The Last Shadow Puppets
Best Album: Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds - Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!
Hero award: Motorhead
Icon award: The Sex Pistols
Best Live Act: Led Zeppelin
Classic Songwriter: Neil Diamond
Hall Of Fame: The Specials
Lifetime Achievement award: Genesis
Special award: Judy Collins
Legend award: Irma Thomas
Classic Album: My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
Inspiration award: John Fogerty
Outstanding Contribution To Music: Paul Weller
Roots award: Toots Hibbert
Les Paul award: John Martyn
Maverick award: Mark E Smith
Vision award: Julien Temple - The Future is Unwritten
Compilation Of The Year: Juno Original Soundtrack