Joey Jordison RIP: Stars pay tribute - "better upside down than any other metal drummer sitting normally"

Slipknot
(Image credit: Slipknot)

As the news of Joey Jordison's death, aged 46 has reached the metal and drumming world, his friends, peers, gear brands and former bandmates have taken to social media to pay their respects.

Leading the tributes are his former Slipknot bandmates, and current Slipknot drummer, Jay Weinberg, with the band and members' social media accounts updated with an all-black profile picture. Meanwhile, Ginger Wildheart added that Jordison was "better upside down than any other metal drummer sitting normally".

Joey's death was confirmed by his family, noting that he "passed peacefully in his sleep" on Monday 26 July.

See more
See more
See more

A post shared by James Root (@jamesroot) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Jay Weinberg (@jayweinberg) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more
See more

A post shared by Pearl Drums Official Page (@pearl_drums) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Ray Luzier (@rayluzierkorn) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Paiste Cymbals (@paistecymbals) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Eloy Casagrande (@eloycasagrande) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Max Portnoy (@maxportnoy) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Eric Moore (@ericmoore_ii) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Alex Bent (@alexbentdrums) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Metallica (@metallica) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Pantera (@panteraofficial) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more
See more
See more
See more
See more
See more
See more
See more
See more
Stuart Williams
Drums

I'm a freelance member of the MusicRadar team, specialising in drum news, interviews and reviews. I formerly edited Rhythm and Total Guitar here in the UK and have been playing drums for more than 25 years (my arms are very tired). When I'm not working on the site, I can be found on my electronic kit at home, or gigging and depping in function bands and the odd original project.