Gibson giveaway 'Hot Tones' album download

Slash: Hat? Check. Cigarette? Check. Les Paul? Check.
Slash: Hat? Check. Cigarette? Check. Les Paul? Check.

Hot on the heels of Gibson's Dark Fire revelation comes another first of its kind from the guitar giants: a free album download. Gibson Presents: Hot Tones In High-Definition features 14 tracks by some of Gibson's finest endorsees including Sonny Landreth, Eric Johnson and Slash.

So called 'High Definition' because of the partnership with the album's distributor HDtracks and the three high-quality formats you can choose to download it in: AIFF, FLAC and 320kbps MP3.

You've got until 6 December to get your free download after which the "album will no longer be available with no plans to redistribute it in any format." Get it while you can, then.

Hot Tones In High-Definition tracklisting

1. Tinsley Ellis - Tell The Truth
2. Nick Colionne - No Limits
3. Kenny Neal - Let Life Flow
4. Eric Johnson - World Of Trouble
5. Big Bill Morganfield - Rising Sun
6. Johnny A - Hip Bone
7. Peter Karp - All I Really Want
8. Chris Cain - Everything You Do Is Just Right
9. Arlen Roth with Sonny Landreth - Tumblin'
10. Johnny Winter - Don't Take Advantage Of Me
11. Billy Burnette - Tear It Up
12. Michael Burks - Strange Feeling
13. Slash - Vocalise
14. Neal Schon - Timeless Motion

It's interesting to see a gear manufacturer moving into the 'free music' sector. Next step: 'free guitars'? Unlikely…

Tom Porter worked on MusicRadar from its mid-2007 launch date to 2011, covering a range of music and music making topics, across features, gear news, reviews, interviews and more. A regular NAMM-goer back in the day, Tom now resides permanently in Los Angeles, where he's doing rather well at the Internet Movie Database (IMDB).