Arctic Monkeys announce new album Suck It And See

Sheffield's finest: LA as f*ck
Sheffield's finest: LA as f*ck

Arctic Monkeys have announced a June release for their fourth album, called Suck It And See, produced by Simian Mobile Disco man James Ford.

The news follows last week's unveiling of new track Brick By Brick, the video for which hammers home the song's 'new' legitimacy (a close-up of the record stamp at 2:39 shows a recording date of February 2011), as opposed to being a hangover from the Humbug sessions, which Ford - along with Josh Homme - also had a hand in producing.

The similarities are there, though: big, heavy, and slightly haunting. Albeit uptempo and silly enough (the lyrics, the cascading chorus) to not take itself too seriously.

Suck It And See drops in the UK on 6 June, a day later in the US. Tracklisting below…

01. She's Thunderstorms
02. Black Treacle
03. Brick by Brick
04. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala
05. Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair
06. Library Pictures
07. All My Own Stunts
08. Reckless Serenade
09. Piledriver Waltz
10. Love isa Laserquest
11. Suck It and See
12. That's Where You're Wrong

Oh, if you couldn't guess from the convertible and impressive beardage in the press image, the album was recorded at Sound City Studios… Los Angeles.

Tom Porter worked on MusicRadar from its mid-2007 launch date to 2011, covering a range of music and music making topics, across features, gear news, reviews, interviews and more. A regular NAMM-goer back in the day, Tom now resides permanently in Los Angeles, where he's doing rather well at the Internet Movie Database (IMDB).