Mike Portnoy's Transatlantic to release live DVD

Mike portnoy

Mike portnoy

© Scott D. Smith/Retna ./Retna Ltd./Corbis

Among a million and one other projects, 2010 saw Mike Portnoy resurrect prog behemoth Transatlantic for a new album and tour…and now, a huge live DVD.

The band recorded their London show earlier this year for the imaginatively titled Whirld Tour 2010: Live At Shepherd's Bush London.

But, in the true spirit of prog, this isn't a normal live DVD, it's a massive double disc and triple CD set. Pick yourself up a copy and you'll get:

DVD 1 (147 minutes)

01. The Whirlwind

02. All of the Above

03. We All Need Some Light

04. Duel With the Devil

DVD 2 (190 minutes)

01. Bridge Across Forever

02. Stranger in Your Soul

03. Documentary

04. Band Interview

05. Return of the Giant Hogweed (w/ Steve Hacket)

CD 1

01. The Whirlwind (79:52)

CD 2

01. All of the Above (30:19)

02. We All Need Some Light (8:40)

03. Duel with the Devil (28:31)

CD 3

01. Bridge Across Forever (6:03)

02. Stranger in Your Soul (30:00)

You can't accuse Portnoy of skimping on the material, can you?

Rich Chamberlain

Rich is a teacher, one time Rhythm staff writer and experienced freelance journalist who has interviewed countless revered musicians, engineers, producers and stars for the our world-leading music making portfolio, including such titles as Rhythm, Total Guitar, Guitarist, Guitar World, and MusicRadar. His victims include such luminaries as Ice T, Mark Guilani and Jamie Oliver (the drumming one).