Taylor Swift announces surprise album produced by The National's Aaron Dessner

Taylor Swift has released a surprise album featuring indie luminaries including The National's guitarist Aarons Dessner who produces the album and cowrote 11 of its 16 tracks.

Lockdown has obviously been good for Swift's creativity; she wrote her eighth album when her other 2020 musical plans fell through.

Her self-directed video for the song Cardigan is viewable above.

Read whats she has to say about Folklore from her Instagram post below:

So with the personnel involved we're expecting something different musically than what we've heard from Swift before – is this the closest she'll get to her take on an indie album?

Folklore tracklist:

01. The 1
02. Cardigan
03. The Last Great American Dynasty
04. Exile” (feat. Bon Iver)
05. My Tears Ricochet
06. Mirrorball
07. Seven
08. August
09. This Is Me Trying
10. Illicit Affairs
11. Invisible String
12. Mad Woman
13. Epiphany
14. Betty
15. Peace
16. Hoax


Rob Laing
Guitars Editor, MusicRadar

I'm the Guitars Editor for MusicRadar, handling news, reviews, features, tuition, advice for the strings side of the site and everything in between. Before MusicRadar I worked on guitar magazines for 15 years, including Editor of Total Guitar in the UK. When I'm not rejigging pedalboards I'm usually thinking about rejigging pedalboards.