Sigur Rós release free song, announce new album

Sigur Rós reveal their naked ambition.
Sigur Rós reveal their naked ambition.

Sigur Rós have announced that their fifth studio album - the snappily titled Med sud i eyrum vid spilum endalaust (which translates as “with a buzz in our ears we play endlessly”) - will be released on June 23.

That isn´t too long to wait, but if you want a taste of what the record has to offer, you can download Gobbledigook, the first track from the album, from the band´s website now.

It´s also been revealed that All Alright, the new set´s final song, will be the first to feature English-language vocals. Sigur Rós´s decision to sing in their native Icelandic tongue (and in some cases, in no recognised tongue at all) has certainly added to their mystique, though critics have argued that it´s given their music a false air of profundity.

The new album´s full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Gobbledigook
2. Inní mér syngur vitleysingur
3. Góðan daginn
4. Við spilum endalaust
5. Festival
6. Með suð í eyrum
7. Ára bátur
8. Illgresi
9. Fljótavík
10. Straumnes
11. All alright

By Ben Rogerson

Ben Rogerson

I’m the Deputy Editor of MusicRadar, having worked on the site since its launch in 2007. I previously spent eight years working on our sister magazine, Computer Music. I’ve been playing the piano, gigging in bands and failing to finish tracks at home for more than 30 years, 24 of which I’ve also spent writing about music and the ever-changing technology used to make it.