Classic Satriani album to get 20th anniversary reissue

Joe Satriani's breakthrough 1987 album Surfing With The Alien will be re-released on August 7 to celebrate its 20th anniversary - and will be packaged with a second bonus disc for good measure.

Epic/ Legacy Recordings will release the album in remastered form and with a previously unseen film of a live show at the Montreux Jazz Festival in 1988. It will also feature new liner notes written by Satch himself, as well as special deluxe packaging featuring photos, notes and other memorabilia from Joe's personal collection.

In the world of shred the million seller remains a crucial album and it was the first instrumental guitar album to break into Billboard's top 200 album chart. If you've never sampled the delights of Satch Boogie, the title track and the grammy-nominated Always With Me, Always With You then now is your chance.

Here's the tracklisting…

Disc 1 (remastered album):

01. Surfing with the Alien
02. Ice 9
03. Crushing Day
04. Always With Me, Always With You
05. Satch Boogie
06. Hill of the Skull
07. Circles
08. Lords of Karma
09. Midnight
10. Echo

Disc 2 (live DVD):

Live at Montreux (previously unreleased):

01. Ice 9
02. Memories
03. Midnight
04. Rubina
05. Circles
06. Lords of Karma
07. S.T.U.
08. Echo
09. Hordes of Locusts
10. Always With Me, Always With You
11. Satch Boogie