Mars Volta announce new album, gigs

The band are set to release their fifth studio album

Prog-rockers The Mars Volta have announced that they will release their fifth studio album next month.

The record, to be titled Octahedron, will be released on 22 June (and 23 June in America) and the band will play live during the summer.

The album was written by core Mars Volta members Omar Rodríguez-López and vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala although other musicians including Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante also appear on the record.

The band will play London ICA on 18 June and Somerset House on 13 July.

The tracklisting for the album is:

1. "Since We've Been Wrong"

2. "Teflon"

3. "Halo of Nembutals"

4. "With Twilight as My Guide"

5. "Cotopaxi"

6. "Desperate Graves"

7. "Copernicus"

8. "Luciforms"