Watch prog rock legend Steve Hackett perform the Genesis classic Squonk live

Steve Hackett
(Image credit: Mick Bannister)

Over 50 years ago, legendary guitarist Steve Hackett joined prog rock pioneers Genesis.

Alongside bandmates Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Mike Rutherford and Phil Collins, his stunning fretboard prowess helped solidify their legacy as one of the era’s most important groups.

Influencing a generation of electric guitar players, Hackett’s matchless style was a crucial element of classic Genesis albums recorded during his tenure from 1971 to 1977, including Nursery Cryme, Foxtrot, Genesis Live, Selling England by the Pound, The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, A Trick of the Tail and Wind & Wuthering.

1977’s live album Seconds Out was the last Genesis LP to feature Hackett, marking the end of an era in prog rock.

Steve Hackett

(Image credit: Lee Millward)

After leaving Genesis at the end of 1977, Hackett embarked on a successful solo career.

Having clocked up over 30 albums to date, his musical scope has broadened considerably while striving to explore new genres and styles using both electric and acoustic guitars.

As a torchbearer of the golden era of prog rock, Hackett continues to entertain fans with his awesome live shows, performing timeless Genesis songs for audiences the world over.

Check out this rendition of Squonk from 1976’s A Trick of the Tail and the top ten live album Seconds Out…

Today, Hackett is pleased to announce a new live album titled Genesis Revisited Live: Seconds Out & More is due to be released on 2nd September.

Genesis Revisited Live: Seconds Out & More will be available as a limited double-CD package accompanied by either a Blu-ray or DVD. Boasting 5.1 sound, both formats feature behind-the-scenes documentary and promo videos.

A vinyl release is scheduled to follow later on 25th November.

Genesis Revisited Live: Seconds Out & More is intended as a visual document of Hackett’s 2021 UK tour that celebrated the classic Genesis live album.

Performing Seconds Out in full and in sequence, Hackett and his band – comprising Roger King, Rob Townsend, Jonas Reingold, Nad Sylvan and Craig Blundell – also delved into a selection of solo material along the way, including tracks from his most recent studio album, Surrender of Silence.

Tracklist is as follows:

  • Apollo Intro
  • Clocks - The Angel Of Mons
  • Held In The Shadows
  • Every Day
  • The Devil's Cathedral
  • Shadow Of The Hierophant
  • Squonk
  • The Carpet Crawlers
  • Robbery, Assault And Battery
  • Afterglow
  • Firth Of Fifth
  • I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
  • The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway
  • Musical Box (Closing Section)
  • Supper's Ready
  • The Cinema Show
  • Aisle Of Plenty
  • Dance On A Volcano
  • Los Endos

Genesis Revisited Live: Seconds Out & More

(Image credit: Insideout Music)

Click here to pre-order Genesis Revisited Live: Seconds Out & More.

For information on lives shows, including the forthcoming Steve Hackett Genesis Revisited – Foxtrot at Fifty + Hackett Highlights tour click here.

Rod Brakes

Rod Brakes is a music journalist with an expertise in guitars. Having spent many years at the coalface as a guitar dealer and tech, Rod's more recent work as a writer covering artists, industry pros and gear includes contributions for leading publications and websites such as Guitarist, Total Guitar, Guitar WorldGuitar Player and MusicRadar in addition to specialist music books, blogs and social media. He is also a lifelong musician.