Spinal Tap: new album details

Spinal Tap are Back From The Dead
Spinal Tap are Back From The Dead

Spinal Tap have confirmed details of their forthcoming album, set for release in June 2009.

Back From The Dead is released on 15 June and features cameos from Def Leppard's Phil Collen, John Mayer, Steve Vai and keyboardist Keith Emerson.

It will be accompanied by an hour-long DVD featuring insights from the band members about the songs.

The album will contain 19 tracks, including new versions of Hell Hole and Big Bottom - from 1984's This Is Spinal Tap original soundtrack - plus Jazz Odyssey (a three-part, erm, odyssey), and a reggae version of (Listen To The) Flower People, which also appeared on the OST.

Watch the '1960s' original below.

Other songs are Warmer Than Hell, Celtic Blues, Rock 'N' Roll Nightmare and Saucy Jack.

Bassist Derek Smalls - aka actor Harry Shearer - says there are plans to release further new material.

Smalls says there were: "about four or five new songs that weren't completed in time to make this record, so we'll do something digital with them on the download side or something like that".

Spinal Tap celebrate the 25th anniversary of This Is Spinal Tap with a one-night world tour at London's Wembley Arena on 30 June. But according to The Mirror newspaper, Spinal Tap will also play at June 2009's Glastonbury Festival.

You can win tickets to Steve Vai's Alien Guitar Secrets masterclass at LIMS with MusicRadar.