Sammy Hagar explains the meaning behind 'Chickenfoot III'

The second record is called Chickenfoot III, and it all makes perfect sense
The second record is called Chickenfoot III, and it all makes perfect sense

"I'm very proud of the new album," says singer Sammy Hagar of the upcoming Chickenfoot III, which reunites him with guitar virutoso Joe Satriani, along with the illustrious rhythm section of Michael Anthony and Chad Smith. "We've established a real trust, Joe and I. We truly bring out the best in one another, and that spreads to the whole band."

As to why the record is called Chickenfoot III (after all, it is the group's sophmore outing), Hagar explains, "We're calling the album Chickenfoot III because it's so good, the songs are so tight, it's like we jumped right past having to make a second record."

Co-produced by the band and Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Metallica), Chickenfoot III is set for worldwide release on 27 September from eOne Music in North America and around the world by earMUSIC/Edel in a special 3D designed package. The album's lead single, Big Foot, will be issued 2 August.

Tracklisting for Chickenfoot III

1. Last Temptation
2. Alright, Alright
3. Different Devil
4. Up Next
5. Lighten Up
6. Come Closer
7. Three And A Half Letters
8. Big Foot
9. Dubai Blues
10. Something Going Wrong

Joe Bosso

Joe is a freelance journalist who has, over the past few decades, interviewed hundreds of guitarists for Guitar WorldGuitar PlayerMusicRadar and Classic Rock. He is also a former editor of Guitar World, contributing writer for Guitar Aficionado and VP of A&R for Island Records. He’s an enthusiastic guitarist, but he’s nowhere near the likes of the people he interviews. Surprisingly, his skills are more suited to the drums. If you need a drummer for your Beatles tribute band, look him up.