Jay-Z to guest on Coldplay track

"And it was all motherf***in' Yellow"
"And it was all motherf***in' Yellow"

Chris Martin and Jay-Z have been rollin' together for some time, and now the Coldplay frontman has revealed that the hip-hop superstar is to guest on Lost!, a track that he and his band plan to release in "a few weeks".

In a handwritten note on the Coldplay website, Martin also confirms that the four-piece are to put out an EP in November called Prospekt's March. The singer explains that this contains "eight tracks that were not finished back in May (our deadline for Viva La Vida) but that have just been completed".

The full listing is as follows:

1. Life In Technicolor II
2. Postcards From Far Away
3. Glass Of Water
4. Rainy Day
5. Prospekt's March/Poppyfields
6. Lost+
7. Lovers In Japan (Osaka Sun Mix)
8. Now My Feet Won't Touch The Ground

The Prospekt's March EP will be available as a download, and also as part of the Viva La Lida: Prospekt's March Edition album that's set for release (presumably in November, too).

What isn't exactly clear is whether the Lost! song that Jay-Z will guest on is the same as the Lost+ track that is listed on the EP. What's also odd is that Martin's letter is dated October 08, which is actually tomorrow.

Maybe he's been hanging around with Doctor Emmett Brown recently, too.

Ben Rogerson

I’m the Deputy Editor of MusicRadar, having worked on the site since its launch in 2007. I previously spent eight years working on our sister magazine, Computer Music. I’ve been playing the piano, gigging in bands and failing to finish tracks at home for more than 30 years, 24 of which I’ve also spent writing about music and the ever-changing technology used to make it.