Watershed Moment: Opeth announce new album title and tracklisting

Sweden's Opeth have chosen Watershed as the title of their forthcoming album, due on June 2 via Roadrunner Records. The album was produced by frontman/guitarist Mikael kerfeldt and Jens Bogren and if past form is anything to go by, could be the metal release of the year.

This from the press release: Album opener Coil is a gorgeous acoustic number, featuring local folk vocalist Nathalie Lorichs, while Heir Apparent will knock listeners unconscious with its blunt force metal. Always one to defy the rules, Opeth posits sung vocals over artillery-like blast beats on The Lotus Eater, cementing their reputation as innovators and redefiners.

Watershed combines elements of modern metal, prog rock, free jazz and hints of European folk music, all of which come together for a seamless, unique collection of songs that will leave an indelible mark upon all who listen.

Mmmmm - sounds promising

This is the first Opeth release to feature new receruits guitarist Fredrik kesson and drummer Martin Axenrot.

Watershed track listing:

01. Coil
02. Heir Apparent
03. The Lotus Eater
04. Burden
05. Porcelain Heart
06. Hessian Peel
07. Hex Omega

In a recent interview with Revolver magazine, kerfeldt said this about Watershed, "The music is much more complex. The metal parts are even faster and a lot more technical than the last one. It's really hard to play some of this stuff. I mean, I wrote it and even I have trouble playing parts of it. I think it's going to be hard for some people to get into. It's definitely not a commercial-sounding record. The arrangements are exhausting. And it's much darker. Even the major patterns are very dark, while I think [2005 album] Ghost Reveries had some light."