BBC to air Seven Ages Of Rock documentary series

A new seven-part BBC 2 documentary series, airing each Saturday between 19 May and 30 June, will explore different eras of rock music through a "prism of a central wrap-around artist or group".

The titles of Seven Ages Of Rock's hour-long episodes are:

The Birth of Rock - tx Sat 19th May
White Light, White Heat: Art Rock - tx Sat 26 May
Blank Generation: Punk Rock - tx Sat 2 June
Never Say Die: Heavy Metal - tx Sat June
We Are The Champions: Stadium Rock - tx Sat 16 June
Left Of The Dial: American Alternative Rock - tx Sat 23 June
What The World Is Waiting For: British Indie Rock - tx Sat 30 June

Featuring a combination of new and archive interviews with contributors such as Roger Waters, David Bowie, Bryan Ferry, Phil Collins, Debbie Harry, Ozzy Osbourne, Johnny Marr, Dave Grohl, Noel Gallagher, Damon Albarn and Alex Kaprano, we reckon it could even be worth staying in for on a Saturday night ...