Les Paul Foundation appoints Slash, Joan Jett, Nile Rodgers and more to new Advisory Council

Gibson Slash Les Paul Standard 4 Album Limited Edition
(Image credit: Gibson)

The Les Paul Foundation has formed a new Advisory Council to help deliver its goals in furthering musical education, engineering and hearing health. 

The Advisory Council comprises a number of high-profile figures from across the music industry, including six-string superstars Slash, Nile Rodgers, Joan Jett, Peter Frampton and Richie Sambora. 

The foundation, which was set up to honour Les Paul’s legacy, is behind a number of charitable initiatives, and to date has awarded over $4 million to non-profit organisations.

Michael Braunstein, the foundation’s executive director, described the panel is a “fitting tribute” to the electric guitar pioneer.

“The individuals who have joined the Les Paul Foundation Advisory Council are a prestigious and influential group of music industry artists, educators, executives and friends,” said Braunstein. “The names we announced today are a fitting tribute to Les. We look forward to their ideas and are thankful for their commitment to helping us share the historic legacy of such a great man, our friend Les Paul.”

Other Advisory Council members include Steve Miller, music executive Don Was, K-Pop producer Alawn, CAA Nashville president Rod Essig, and Public Enemy’s Brian Hardgroove.

Find out more at the Les Paul Foundation.

Jonathan Horsley

Jonathan Horsley has been writing about guitars and guitar culture since 2005, playing them since 1990, and regularly contributes to MusicRadar, Total Guitar and Guitar World. He uses Jazz III nylon picks, 10s during the week, 9s at the weekend, and shamefully still struggles with rhythm figure one of Van Halen’s Panama.