Danger Mouse / Sparklehorse album release scrapped

Danger Mouse s Dark Night Of The Soul might never be released
Danger Mouse's Dark Night Of The Soul might never be released

Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse's collaboration with film director David Lynch may not see official release.

Dark Night Of The Soul is a collaboration between the producer Danger Mouse (Gnarls Barkley, Gorillaz, The Black Keys) and psych-rock act Sparklehorse (aka Mark Linkous).

But due to unspecified legal issues with record label EMI, the project's official release has been either scrapped altogether or is on indefinite hiatus.

A Danger Mouse representative would only say: "Danger Mouse remains hugely proud of Dark Night Of The Soul and hopes that people lucky enough to hear the music, by whatever means, are as excited by it as he is."

NPR is currently streaming the album in its entirety.

The 13-song Dark Night Of The Soul features vocals from The Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne, The Strokes' Julian Casablancas, Iggy Pop, Frank Black, The Shins' James Mercer, Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys, ex-Granddaddy principle Jason Lytle, The Cardigans' Nina Persson, and singer-songwriter Vic Chesnutt.

Filmmaker David Lynch provided a book of still photos with which the CD was to be packaged. The book is still slated for release, but a blank CDR will be inserted instead of the actual album.

Hear the entire album: Dark Night Of The Soul