Watch Virgil & Steve Howe’s kaleidoscopic Lunar Mist music video

Virgil & Steve Howe Lunar Mist music video still
(Image credit: InsideOutMusic)

Legendary Yes guitarist Steve Howe has announced a second album collaboration with his late son, Virgil Howe (1975-2017), is scheduled to land on 23rd September.

Featuring a front cover painting by Virgil’s daughter, Zuni, the new album – titled Lunar Mist – will be available via InsideOutMusic as a limited CD Digipak and on 180-gram black vinyl, in addition to regular CD and digital releases.

Drawing on Steve Howe’s passion for guitar and his never-ending drive to create and perform music, Lunar Mist was fuelled by the love and energies he draws from his wife, Jan, and their family, states a recent press release.

Watch the kaleidoscopic music video accompanying the album’s title track here…

Lunar Mist follows up the release of the duo’s 2017 debut album, Nexus.

Using recordings and ideas created by Virgil, Steve Howe began compiling material in order to commence work on the project in January 2021.

“I started by writing chord charts for all the other tunes, before adding guitars and bass guitars to embellish them and bring them to completion,” says the prog rock pioneer.

“In the most part I kept them as he’d written them, but sometimes I expanded them with further ideas and improvisation.”

Virgil & Steve Howe

Virgil & Steve Howe (Image credit: InsideOutMusic)

The result is a unique collection of recordings that will appeal to fans of both musicians.

“Virgil shows some different musical characteristics here that were such a joy to play on,” he adds.  

“There’s more of his great drumming and a broader inventiveness in his compositions."

Tracklist is as follows:

  1. Lunar Mist
  2. More Than You Know
  3. Plexus
  4. Mariah’s Theme
  5. A Month In The Sun
  6. As If Between
  7. Never Less
  8. Lothian’s Way
  9. Free Spirit
  10. Eternal
  11. Dirama
  12. Pinnacle
  13. Pagoda
  14. Martian Mood

Virgil & Steve Howe Lunar Mist

(Image credit: InsideOutMusic)

Pre-order Lunar Mist by Virgil & Steve Howe here.

Rod Brakes

Rod Brakes is a music journalist with an expertise in guitars. Having spent many years at the coalface as a guitar dealer and tech, Rod's more recent work as a writer covering artists, industry pros and gear includes contributions for leading publications and websites such as Guitarist, Total Guitar, Guitar WorldGuitar Player and MusicRadar in addition to specialist music books, blogs and social media. He is also a lifelong musician.