Akai MAX49

Le contrôleur clavier évolue

Le contrôleur MAX49 d'Akai semble tomber à pic pour annoncer une nouvelle étape dans l'évolution du concept de contrôleur clavier...

Le terme "contrôleur clavier" faisait traditionnellement partie des termes les moins sexys que l'industrie musicale avait à proposer ; après tout, qu'est-ce qui pourrait être encore moins inspirant qu'un clavier sans aucun son intégré, sans rien d'autre qu'une sortie MIDI pour utiliser nos soft synthés ?

Heureusement, ces pseudo machines n'ont pas fait long feu car les fabricants ont commencé à comprendre que si nous aimions l'idée de contrôler la saisie des notes depuis nos claviers, nous serions également heureux de pouvoir contrôler d'autres éléments sonores. Peu de temps après, nous jouions des percussions sur des pads, utilisions les contrôles de transport de nos séquenceurs et nous réglions même des plug-ins avec des curseurs, des molettes et des switch.

Après toutes ces avancées, le contrôleur MAX49 d'Akai semble tomber à pic pour annoncer une nouvelle étape dans l'évolution du concept de contrôleur clavier, vu que ses attributions visent à plonger plus profond dans la sphère du contrôle à distance.

Date mémorable peinte en lettres rouges

Peint en un rouge vif atténué, le MAX49 est, comme son nom le suggère, un contrôleur clavier à quatre octaves. Il est doté d'un clavier dynamique et d'un toucher semi-lourd avec aftertouch qui présente également 12 pads de percussion caoutchoutés et un ensemble assez complet de touches permettant une grande étendue de fonctionnalités. En plus des contrôles de transport, des molettes de pitch et de modulation, la spécificité réside dans les huit curseurs tactiles/contrôleurs ruban verticaux assignables.

Sur le panneau arrière, en plus de l'alimentation bus USB, vous trouverez des ports d'entrée et de sortie MIDI, une pédale de sustain et deux contrôles supplémentaires pour des pédales aditionelles? Assez étrangement, on trouvera aussi des sorties CV et Gate pour contrôler n'importe quel synthé classique/analogique, synthé desktop plus récent ou formats modulaires. Cependant, le fait de lister les contrôles physiques ne rend pas justice au MAX49, car c'est l'étendue des options de contrôle intégrées qui s'avère la plus impressionnante.

Dans la boîte avec le clavier, vous trouverez un CD d'instruction et d'installation de pilotes. Ce dernier comporte deux programmes : Akai Connect et le Vyzex Editor. Une fois installé, Akai Connect a pour mission de préparer les séquenceurs de votre choix pour les utiliser avec le clavier, et il s'en acquitte en proposant un plug-in qui prépare tous ceux présents sur votre système pour une utilisation directe avec le matériel.

Vous pouvez charger des plug-ins individuellement ou charger le tout d'un seul coup. Par la suite, il s'agit simplement de choisir le programme séquenceur par défaut à utiliser avec votre clavier. Une fois que vous avez fait la connexion, le MAX49 est prêt à prendre le contrôle.

Par ailleurs, ce clavier présente l'avantage de parler les langages de contrôle de surface aussi bien des modes Mackie Control que HUI. Autrement dit, si vous souhaitez le configurer pour exécuter votre séquenceur via l'une de ces interfaces, le clavier est prêt à cela.

Un max de performances

Vous associez peut-être les arpégiateurs et les séquenceurs avec des instruments qui présentent leurs propres sons intégrés, mais cela n'a pas empêché Akai de les inclure ici pour appeler du MIDI.

Les séquences peuvent être lancées depuis les pads et c'est fantastique de constater l'emploi d'astuces réellement orientées MPC. On aime notamment l'option de répétition de note depuis une touche spécialement dédiée. La performance est egalement encouragée par les contrôleurs rubans. Ils peuvent être utilisés pour changer n'importe quel type de réglage de votre séquenceur ou assigner des données/paramètres, par exemple les vitesses de fréquences d'oscillation.

Puisque vous pouvez appuyer sur chaque point du contrôleur ruban pour sauter d'une position à une autre (pas besoin de glisser le doigt pour augmenter un volume, etc.), il est par exemple possible de les utiliser comme contrôles de vitesse d'oscillateur basses fréquences. Concernant les pads et les fader, puisque il y a des touches banque pour chacun d'eux, le Max 49 offre un total de 48 assignations de pad et 32 cibles potentielles pour les contrôleurs ruban, permettant ainsi le contrôle de plus de 80 paramètres directement sur le panneau frontal, ce qui devrait vous occuper un moment.

En résumé

L'épreuve de vérité de n'importe quel contrôleur clavier est la mesure dans laquelle il vous encourage à mener un projet directement dessus sans avoir à utiliser votre souris. MAX49 passe le test haut la main. Bien que l'ensemble de ses contrôles demande un peu de temps en prise en main, c'est seulement parce qu'il propose des banques de contrôle offrant une énorme étendue de paramètres qu'il vous faudra apprivoiser. Bref, on ne va pas se plaindre de pouvoir assigner trop de sons !

Si vous passez un peu de temps à vous y habituer, vous trouverez votre souris de plus en plus inutile. Le clavier offre une action ferme plaisante et il est très agréable d'avoir des pads rétro-éclairés qui vous répondent musicalement. Le tout avec un contrôle aftertouch.

La popularité croissante des synthés analogiques contemporains, ainsi que la demande soutenue pour les synthés d'occasion anciens, justifient complètement l'ajout des ports CV/Gate, avec le MAX49 en place pour constituer une passerelle MIDI entre ces appareils et votre ordinateur.

L'une des principales considérations à l'achat réside dans votre préférence à utiliser des curseurs ruban plutôt que des potards encodeurs. En comparaison de nombre de ses concurrents, Akai a pris la décision de se débarrasser complètement de ces derniers.

Ne pas oublier toutefois que les huit contrôleurs rubans physiques peuvent exécuter 32 tâches via les banques, donc, selon nous, c'est un pari qui en vaut la peine. Avec une approche qui vous encourage à la performance aussi bien qu'elle vous laisse prendre le contrôle, MAX49 est un succès. Mais s'il vous plait Mr Akai, pouvez-vous nous en faire une version 61 touches !

MusicRadar Note

4,5 / 5 Etoiles
On aime

Solution tout en un. S'intègre bien dans le plan de travail Reason Écran LCD couleur

On regrette

Certains rechignent peut-être à utiliser les curseurs molettes.

Verdict

Un contrôleur comportant de nombreuses fonctionnalités maitrisant à la fois le passé, le présent et l'avenir.

Connections

USB, MIDI In/ Out, CV (1V/octave), Gate (configurable), Sustain Pedal

Weight (kg)

5.31

Dimensions

741 x 80 x 322

Available Outputs

MIDI out USB

Available Inputs

MIDI

Number of Keys

49

Features

4x 12 Pads, 4x 8 Faders, 4x 8 Assignable Buttons, Pitch and Modulation Wheels; elocity sensitive, semi-weighted keys with Channel Aftertouch

Politique En Matière De Test
Tous les tests produits par MusicRadar sont réalisés par des musiciens spécialistes de leur domaine qui ne sont en aucun cas liés à une quelconque marque ou à un revendeur. Nos experts écrivent également pour des magazines célèbres comme Guitarists, Total Guitar, Computer Music, Future Music et Rythm. Tous font partie du groupe Future PLC, plus grosse maison d'édition et de magazines musicaux au monde.

Akai MAX49 review

  • £309
  • €471
  • $699

The keyboard controller evolves

Image 1 of 3 Akai MAX49 review
MAX49 is, as its name suggests, a four-octave controller keyboard with a huge range of control options
Image 2 of 3 Top view
Image 3 of 3 Rear panel

Our Verdict

A feature-packed controller with its eyes on the past, present and future, all at once.

For

  • An all-in-one solution. Integrates well into Reason workflow. Colour LCD screen.

Against

  • Some may balk at rotary sliders.
Buying options

Akai's MAX49 controller might just be ready to herald in the next step in the evolution of the controller keyboard concept...

The words 'keyboard controller' used to be among the least sexy terms our industry had to offer - after all, what could be less inspiring than a keyboard with no in-built sounds, offering nothing but MIDI output to trigger our assorted soft synths?

Fortunately, such vanilla devices didn't last long as manufacturers began to understand that if we liked the idea of controlling note input from keyboards, we might get more excited if we could control other things too. Soon, we were banging out drums on pads, running our DAW's transport controls, and even tweaking plug-ins via sliders, rotaries and switches.

Akai's MAX49 controller might just be ready to herald in the next step in the evolution of the controller keyboard concept, then, as its remit is to go even deeper into the realms of remote control.

Red letter days

Rendered in a slightly darker version of pillar box red, MAX49 is, as its name suggests, a four-octave controller keyboard (featuring velocity and semi-weighted aftertouch control) which also offers 12 rubberized drum pads, eight vertical ribbon-control sliders, transport control buttons, Pitch and Modulation Wheels, and a fairly comprehensive collection of buttons hinting at extended functionality.

"It's the scale of the control options onboard that proves most impressive"

On the rear panel, as well as the bus-power enabling USB connector, you'll find MIDI In/Out ports, sustain pedal and two additional footswitch controls and, somewhat unusually, CV and Gate outputs to control any classic synths, newer desktop ones or modular formats - the CV operates over V/Oct. However, merely listing the physical controls doesn't do the MAX49 justice at all, as it's the scale of the control options onboard that proves most impressive.

In the box with the keyboard you'll find a manual and driver CD, the latter of which provides two programs - Akai Connect and the Vyzex Editor. Once installed, Akai Connect's job is to ready your chosen DAW for use with the keyboard, and it does this by offering a plug-in 'wrapping service' which prepares every available plug-in on your system for direct use with the hardware.

You can either wrap plug-ins individually or wrap everything in a single pass. Thereafter, it's simply a question of selecting your DAW's 'starting point' Program from the keyboard hardware. Once you've made the match, MAX49 is ready to take control.

Additionally, this keyboard is happy to talk the control surface language of both Mackie Control and HUI modes, so if you're keen to set it up to run your DAW via either of these, the keyboard is ready.

Performance station

"Sequences can be launched from the pads and it's great to see some real MPC-oriented tricks employed"

You might associate Arpeggiators and Sequencers with instruments which feature their own in-built sounds, but that hasn't stopped Akai including them here as triggers for MIDI events.

Sequences can be launched from the pads and it's great to see some real MPC-oriented tricks being employed, including a Note Repeat trigger option from a dedicated button. Performance is encouraged from the sliders too. Whilst these can be used to write automation in your chosen DAW, they can also be used to spit out data to control, for instance, LFO speeds within synths.

As you can tap to jump positions on each slider, it would therefore be possible to use these as a wobble-bass speed control, among many other performance possibilities, triggering those jumps on the fly. Speaking of both the pads and the faders, as there are Bank buttons for each of these, there is a total of 48 pad assignments and 32 potential slider targets, providing control over 80 parameters directly from the front panel as a result, which should keep you busy.

Summing up

The acid test of any controller keyboard is the extent to which it encourages you to drive a project from it directly and forgo using your mouse. MAX49 passes this test extremely well; while its control set takes a little getting used to, this is only because it offers banks of control to allow a huge range of parameters to be tamed from its front panel.

If you spend a little time getting acquainted, you'll find your mouse becoming increasingly redundant. The keyboard offers a pleasingly firm action while it's great to have the back-lit pads respond musically too, complete with aftertouch control.

The increasing popularity of modern analogue synths, as well as the continued second-hand demand for synth titles of yesteryear, absolutely justifies the inclusion of CV/Gate ports, with the MAX49 ready to form a MIDI bridge between such devices and your computer.

One of the main purchasing considerations will be whether you're happy to use ribbon sliders rather than rotary encoders; compared with many competitors, Akai have taken the decision to drop the latter altogether.

Remember, though, the eight physical sliders actually drive 32 assignments via the Banks so, for us, it's a gamble which pays off. With an approach which encourages performance as much as it lets you take control, MAX49 is a winner. Can you make a 61-key version please Akai?

All-access artist interviews, in-depth gear reviews, essential production tutorials and much more.
Get the latest issue now!

Tech Specs

ConnectionsUSB, MIDI In/ Out, CV (1V/octave), Gate (configurable), Sustain Pedal
Weight (kg)5.31
Dimensions741 x 80 x 322
Available OutputsMIDI out USB
Available InputsMIDI
Number of Keys49
Features4x 12 Pads, 4x 8 Faders, 4x 8 Assignable Buttons, Pitch and Modulation Wheels; elocity sensitive, semi-weighted keys with Channel Aftertouch