Marilyn Manson and Korn revisit A Nightmare

An eclectic mix indeed

Marilyn Manson And Korn Revisit A Nightmare
Jack Skellington

Walt Disney Records is celebrating 15 years of Tim Burton's gothic classic The Nightmare Before Christmas with a compilation of covers. Various artists including the film score's original composer Danny Elfman have covered, re-recorded and even penned new material for the Jack Skellington-inspired collection.

Keeping with the gothic theme, acts like Marilyn Manson and Korn (as previously reported) are a given, but the inclusion of sun and moon worshippers The Polyphonic Spree and Delilah-loving indie upstarts Plain White Ts make for an interesting mix.

RJD2 and Datarock help supply a surprising electro contingent too.

So, why do this eclectic lot dig The Nightmare Before Christmas enough to contribute? Answers on a pumpkin, please.

Here's the full track listing:

1. Overture – DeVotchka
2. Opening – Danny Elfman
3. This Is Halloween – Marilyn Manson
4. Jack's Lament – All American Rejects
5. Doctor Finkelstein/In The Forest – Amiina
6. What's This? - Flyleaf
7. Town Meeting Song – The Polyphonic Spree
8. Jack And Sally Montage – The Vitamin String Quartet
9. Jack's Obsession - Sparklehorse
10. Kidnap The Sandy Claws - Korn
11. Making Christmas – Rise Against
12. Nabbed – Yoshida Brothers
13. Sally's Song – Amy Lee
14. Christmas Eve Montage – RJD2
15. Poor Jack – Plain White Ts
16. To The Rescue – Datarock
17. Finale/Reprise – Shiny Toy Guns
18. Closing – Danny Elfman
19. End Title – The Album Leaf
20. Oogie Boogie's Song – Rodrigo y Gabriela

The Nightmare Revisited compilation is set for release on 30 September 2008.