Rock Of Ages: new albums from Def Leppard and Whitesnake

How much rock can you handle?

There's a lot of it coming your way regardless. Titans Def Leppard and Whitesnake – who will tour the UK together in June – both have long-awaited studio albums coming this Spring. Here's what we know so far…

Leppard's new album – the first since last year's dubious Yeah covers album – will be called Songs From The Sparkle Lounge. It's named after the backstage area that the band used to write the bulk of material while on their US tour with Journey.

The album will arrive in Europe on 5 May 5 in the UK (6 May in North America) and the tentative track listing (these are working titles for the songs apparently) is as follows:

01. Nine Lives
02. C'mon C'mon
03. Go
04. Love
05. Cruise Control
06. Bad Actress
07. Hallucinate
08. Tomorrow
09. Come Undone
10. Only the Good Die Young
11. Give It Away

The first single off the album is Nine Lives, which features a guest appearance by country star Tim McGraw.

Bassist Rick Savage has gone on record saying the album the album can be described as a mix of their 1981 album High 'N' Dry with 1987 classic Hysteria.

Well poor some sugar on us and take a photograph if that's not an exciting promise – but let's just hope it's not got any rapping on it like 2002's X.

Meanwhile David Coverdale is finally ready to unleash a brand new Whitesnake album on us. Here at Guitarist we love a bit of 'Snake so we're as excited as anyone about this. Good To Be Bad will surface at the end of April in Europe via SPV/Steamhammer

Rock god Coverdale – who last year took on a bear and won – had this to say about Good To Be Bad:

"The new album contains all the elements I enjoy about Whitesnake, and more. I can hear moments that take me back to the bluesy, early years of the band all the way through the band's musical history to fully embrace the more electric aspects of where we are now, as a band. I'm thrilled with it and can hardly wait to unleash it on an unsuspecting public! If this is indeed the last Whitesnake studio record, then I'm happy to finish like this. It was a labor of love making this record...a joy... and I'm still enjoying listening to it. Can't be bad!"

Well that's good enough for us, Dave.

The album, written by Coverdale and guitarist Doug Aldrich (who also co-produced the album with Coverdale and Michael McIntyre) is said to contain the magic balance of eight rockers and three ballads. Coverdale feels it's the first "real" Whitesnake album in almost 20 years, commenting, "It's very butch. Very muscular..."


Good to be Bad track listing:

01. Call On Me
02. Can You Hear The Wind Blow?
03. Best Years
04. All I Want All I Need
05. Good To Be Bad
06. All For Love
07. Summer Rain
08. Lay Down Your Love
09. A Fool In Love
10. Got What You Need
11. 'Till The End Of Time

Whitesnake / Def Leppard UK tour dates (with support from Black Stone Cherry):

Jun. 17 - GB-Glasgow - SECC
Jun. 18 - GB-Birmingham - NEC
Jun. 20 - GB-Manchester - MEN
Jun. 21 - GB-Belfast - Odyssey Arena
Jun. 23 - GB-Sheffield - Arena
Jun. 24 - GB-Newcastle - Arena
Jun. 26 - GB-London - Wembley Arena

Two videos showing both bands in their eighties glory:

YouTube :

YouTube :